Greetings!

I guess I should start by introducing myself.  Hi, my name is Kelly and I’m a wanna-be author (emphasis on the wanna-be).

I’ve been spending the last several years trying to write a book with no success.  Strike that, I wouldn’t say no success.  All of the hours I’ve spent reading books and articles about writing, listening to podcasts about writing, frequenting forums about writing, etc. have definitely helped me to learn what goes into making a good story.  It’s just putting that into actual written words that I’m having a problem with.  I would have to say that the biggest obstacles in my way would be my horrible habits of procrastination and perfectionism.  I will come up with a premise for a story, sit down and write maybe two or three thousand words, and then convince myself that it’s the worst garbage ever written and then delete it and vow to write again later.  Though, I will say that each attempt gets better and better.  So that’s something.

I think another problem I have, is that I have no accountability.  I hide my writing from everyone, don’t make goals for myself (that’s not entirely true though, in 2013 I made a resolution to complete a first draft that year–obviously that never happened, and also last year, I planned to participate in NaNoWriMo but never got past about 1,500 words before I quit about four or five days into it).  So, that’s part of the reason why I’ve created this blog–to share my progress, but also to share with other aspiring authors things that I’ve discovered along the way (interesting articles and books about writing, online resources, etc.)

I have no set schedule on how often I will write new posts, but I would like to try to post at least once a week.  I will also tweet links to my blog posts on my brand new Twitter account (@K_Beam if you would like to follow me).

Well, that’s about it for now.  Thanks for reading!

~Kelly


Current writing goals:

  • This week:  Decide which story idea to work on – DONE (it involves an alternate reality)
  • By the end of the month:  Start work on a rough outline and flesh out the main characters

What I’m currently reading:

  • The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson

 

 

2 responses to “Greetings!

  1. Keep on writing, Kelly. Remember, you’re first draft is never going to be perfect, but once you can get the skeleton down, you can edit and revise to polish it up into a masterpiece 🙂

    Like

    • I think my main problem is not knowing where the story is going, so I just write aimlessly. That’s why I’m determined to do at least a rough outline first before I start writing this time. So, now I have the task of trying to figure out the main plot. I figure, I can fill in any subplots along the way.

      Anyway, thanks for the support, Sarah! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

