NaNoWriMo? Yes, I think so!

NaNo-2015-Participant-Badge-Large-Square

As many of you probably know, November is the time for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month).  Now, I’ve tried to do this a few times in the past only to quit a little ways in when I lost momentum.  But, I have a good feeling about it this year.  Over the past few months, I’ve done more writing than I’ve done in a while now and I’ve gained some confidence.

As I mentioned in my last post, I recently completed a small online writing course which is part of the Writers’ Village University.  Shortly after my last post, I found out that my final lesson (a short story of 500-1,500 words) was chosen as the best story.  I was shocked, mainly because I struggled all week with coming up with a story.  Well, I finally came up with two different ideas a few days before it was due, and only decided on the one I was going to use when I actually sat down to write it (the night before it was due).  That told me a couple things:  (1) I need to stop “thinking” about my writing and just do it and (2) I’m definitely more of a “pantser” than a planner.

So the experience of the writing course has really motivated me to do NaNoWriMo and follow it through to the end.  I’ll post a quick message at least once a week to keep you updated on my progress.  And if any of you are participating and want another writing buddy, I’m KBeam over there.  So, come November 1st, let the fun begin!  Now, I just need to decide what to write… 🙂

See ya later!

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo? Yes, I think so!

  1. Good luck with NaNo! I can’t wait for it to officially begin. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

